Tags

, , ,

This week a group of ‘influential bloggers’ were invited to talks with @mcladingbowl Ofsted’s Director of Schools. The chosen few were @tombennett71 @clerktogovernor @headguruteacher @learningspy and @teachertoolkit. In my opinion @oldandrew should have been there but wasn’t. He has been prolific in his writing about Ofsted and very vocal in debunking some of the myths about what Ofsted do and don’t want. This was a missed opportunity for including him.

I’m not overly interested in the dynamics of the group. I’m not swayed by primary/secondary/Governor/male/female. I know this caused much debate on twitter but it isn’t my main interest. My interest is in the fact that Ofsted have chosen Social Media to air their views. This week I’ve read many tweets from people who are dissatisfied with this. Some think it is the devil’s work and are berating Ofsted for engaging via social media. They say it is unprofessional. Some are further claiming that we are creating a culture of celebrity bloggers by plucking a select group of people to chat with.

I personally am in favour of this. Cynically I feel that they have chosen this group with their immense number of collective followers so that they will write favourably on their behalf in their blogs. Maybe they will, maybe they won’t. None of these bloggers is foolish enough to be wooed by chatting with Ofsted. None will write favourable things unless they hear favourable things. I have the utmost faith in this group of bloggers and I for one feel that engaging with the profession via social media is a step in the right direction. Previously we have had no engagement at all and therefore no platform on which to give our opinions. At least this way we have a chance for this group to represent the profession. This has to be a good move. Long may it continue!

