Tags

, ,

Come on you good folk of Twitter, do what you do best and advise me please.

Is it like this in any other profession? I’m talking about sleepless nights. Many of you will identify with this I’m sure. I’m averaging between 3 and 5 hours sleep per night and I’m exhausted!

I start off reading my kindle and all is well. 10 minutes later I turn my light off and my brain almost instantly kicks in to gear and begins to think about things. Why? It’s had all day to do this and it hasn’t bothered, why choose when I need my sleep?

We are due an Ofsted visit. This is a worry for any person who works in a school. These days an inspection is a whole school affair including pupils, TAs, Governors, teachers and leaders. As AHT I fall in to the teacher and the latter category obviously. We have our SEF form in place, it’s not quite how we want it yet but it’s getting there. Our SDP is under control and we know our strengths and weaknesses. As assessment leader I have my data worked out and I’m reasonably well prepared. Why then does my brain turn to Ofsted in the middle of the night?

Having banished Ofsted from my thoughts I move on to things that are totally out of my control. We need more Governors. How can we recruit more governors? Is there a place where you advertise for school governors? What?? For goodness sake it’s the middle of the night, stop thinking about Governors and get a grip!

My brain listens to that one and moves on to the GCSE resits and league tables for mainstream children. I’m a special school teacher for goodness sake! This has nothing to do with me whatsoever. I couldn’t be more unaffected by it if I tried. The cold reality of this little worry is that I care deeply about all children and their education, not just the poorly ones. That’s why this one visits me in the middle of the night and keeps me awake. I hate the way our children are being subjected to moving goalposts all the time.

So what do I do when my body is screaming for sleep and my eyes are too tired to read? My brain of course is working over time and is having none of that sleep malarkey. I’ve asked my non teacher friends if their sleep pattern is similar to mine. They think I’m being melodramatic at best or neurotic at worst. Or even ‘oh woe is me’. None of these are true, I just want sleep!

What do you think Twitter people? Is it a teacher thing this lack of sleep? Is it part and parcel of the job to worry about things we can’t control? Whatever it is I’m not impressed. I need sleep.

(Written at 2.20 am Thurs. too tired to tweet until Saturday evening )

