Tags

,

This week I have good news! Excellent news in fact.

I have been at my current school for approximately 13 years. I was employed as a teaching assistant to help care for children with special needs. I had a degree and wanted to work with children with special needs. This was and still is my passion.

When the GRTP came along I asked my HT if I could do my teacher training. He was simply marvellous and agreed. He wouldn’t be able to offer me a teaching post but he would fund my training. Bless him. A year later I was a qualified teacher.

Fortunately for me a teacher left my school and I was interviewed for the post of full time teacher in key stage 2. I’m happy to say I got the job. Wow! I was thrilled. Two years on and I became Head of Key Stage 1 and 2. It was hard work but I relished every minute.

After 3 years my HT asked if I would like to do my MA. School would fund it as long as there was an impact for the children. Would I? You bet I would! It was incredibly hard work alongside working full time and keeping a family going but it was so worthwhile. It totally changed my thinking about the children I teach and gave me a greater understanding of SEN.

After I gained my MA I was promoted to SLT. I had responsibility for assessment, CPD, several subjects and Initial Teacher Training. I felt strongly about CPD as I had received so much of it myself. I completed my training for ITT with enthusiasm. I wanted to help others trainees in the same way that I had been helped.

That brings me to my good news. This week I have been promoted to Assistant Head Teacher! As you can imagine I’m thrilled. I’m under no illusions that the new role will be easy. It won’t. That said, every time I work a 14 hour day I know that it’s all worthwhile. Not just for me, obviously I love my job, but for the children. The poorly children are worth every second I devote to them.

So there it is, my good news. From September I will be AHT. I will continue to do the best I can for the poorly children in my school. They are absolutely wonderful and so is my school. I’m grateful for every opportunity they’ve given to me.

